Australian Team Report

by Australian Team Captain, Leonid Sandler

The Australian team is as follows:


  • GM Anton Smirnov (board 1)
  • GM Max Illingworth (board 2)
  • GM Moulthun Ly (reserve)
  • IM James Morris( reserve)


  • WGM Jilin Zhang (board 3)
  • WGM Julia Ryjanova (board 4)
  • WIM Giang Nguyen (reserve)
  • IM Irina Berezina (reserve)

Open under 20:

  • GM Temur Kuybokarov (board 5)
  • FM Albert Winkelman (reserve)

Women under 20:

  • WFM Cassandra Lim (board 6)
  • Eva Ge (reserve)

Team Captain:

  • Leonid Sandler

Assistant Team Captain:

  • Hughston Parle

5 players are from NSW, 3 from Victoria and other 4 players representing ACT, QLD, South Australia and Western Australia.
The Australia team will compete in Division 2 and the list can be seen here plus another 15 teams will be added from Division 3.
We will find the composition of our group( 10 teams) in due course. Top 3 teams from each group will qualify for the Top Division.
Our team looks very strong and hopefully we will have real chances to qualify from Division 2.

Team pools and standings here