This year the ASTC will be using a time control of 30 minutes plus a 10 second increment per move per player for the game in order to cater for potential technical difficulties and time zones.

Since its inception, the Australian Schools Teams Championships has gone from strength to strength with many of Australia’s top junior boys and girls participating in the event.

The first ASTC tournament was first held in Sydney during December 1998, initially with Primary and Secondary Open divisions. In 1999, Primary and Secondary Girls divisions were added in order to encourage more girls to participate.

Each state and territory is entitled to enter one representative team per division in the four ASTC divisions. Typically, these teams are winners of their state or territory chess association endorsed finals or playoffs.

Further details on the ASTC-2020 website

Games can be viewed live here